UPCOMING LIVE EVENTS

Tue 27th July
Online (via Zoom)
A virtual version of our usual monthly open mic... everyone welcome!

Tue 27th July
GREEN NOTE
Returning musician sings songs for the long ride home, driven by storytelling, humour and nostalgia.
Book Tickets
£ 10.00

Thu 29th July
GREEN NOTE
New wave indie folk/ rock sound from this independent and international band, hailing from Melbourne, Australia
Cancelled

Fri 30th July
GREEN NOTE
Irish Mountain Music for City Folk... "They really pack a punch with their full-on rocking acoustic bluegrassy folk” Folk Radio UK
Book Tickets
£ 12.50

Tue 10th August
GREEN NOTE
Debut EP launch gig
Sold out

Wed 11th August
GREEN NOTE
New Roots presents a Lunaria Records showcase night featuring the finest in UK blues, jazz and Americana.
Book Tickets
£ 11.00

Thu 19th August
GREEN NOTE
'Jack Harris is a priest of song who holds himself to a rigorous, ancient code of beauty most of us have forgotten exists.' Anais Mitchell
Book Tickets
£ 11.00

Fri 20th August
GREEN NOTE
Hank and The Wangford Bass Combo emerge back into the light blinking like moles after a spirit crushing lockdown. Bringing new lockdown songs and old favourites too!
POSTPONED

Sat 21st August
GREEN NOTE
Singer-songwriter shares tracks from her debut album alongside high energy classics
Book Tickets
£ 15.00

Wed 25th August
GREEN NOTE
Songwriter and fingerstyle guitarist, marrying the western lyricism of Townes Van Zandt with the very English guitar wizardry of Davy Graham
Book Tickets
£ 10.00

Fri 27th August
GREEN NOTE
"Awash with wit, lust and distraction…..the cleverest writer and most magnetic performer of Blues in the UK." MOJO
Live Stream
£ 10.00

Tue 31st August
GREEN NOTE
“one of England's best kept musical secrets” - Rolling Stone
Sold out

Wed 1st September
GREEN NOTE
**** "A little bit country, a little bit rock and soul" Mojo... "One of Scotland’s best troubadours… fabulous" Bob Harris (BBC Radio 2)
Book Tickets
£ 14.00

Sun 5th September
GREEN NOTE
An exciting double bill featuring two local folk-country/Americana acts...
Book Tickets
£ 10.00

Tue 7th September
THE SLAUGHTERED LAMB
JUNO nominated frontman of Canada's The Deep Dark Woods takes up a deep tradition of forlorn storytelling, drawing lines from Celtic folksongs to country blues, John Fahey to Shirley Collins.
Book Tickets
£ 10.00

Wed 8th September
THE BASEMENT BAR
Two US artists who met at Berklee College of Music’s Joni Mitchell Ensemble make their UK debut.
Book Tickets
£ 10.00

Wed 8th September
GREEN NOTE
Award-winning songwriter. International road warrior. American roots outlaw.
Book Tickets
£ 12.00

Fri 10th September
GREEN NOTE
A Californian double bill! The Crux embraces styles from swing to klezmer to barnyard punk. The Sam Chase Trio dishes out epic folk songs and ballads. Together they promise an evening not to be missed!
Book Tickets
£ 12.00

Sun 12th September
GREEN NOTE
Described as the UK’s answer to Emmylou Harris tinged with the dark storytelling prowess of Nick Cave
Book Tickets
£ 12.00

Mon 13th September
THE BASEMENT BAR
Americana inspired duo who play sparse, unhurried music...‘The equivalent of waking up from a wet and weary February to the sun dancing on the walls of your room’ - Fem Folk UK
Book Tickets
£ 9.00

Tue 14th September
GREEN NOTE
Author Ralph Brookfield invites you to the launch party for his new book 'On the Trail of Americana Music' featuring live music from the Dustbowl Sinners & Mandolin Jack
Book Tickets
£ 10.00

Wed 15th September
GREEN NOTE
Lyrics “gloriously delivered with intonation, inflections and high notes which evoke Joni Mitchell at her very best” - Folk Radio UK
Book Tickets
£ 12.50

Thu 16th September
GREEN NOTE
New Roots presents Irish roots troubadour and Christy Moore affiliate Rob Corcoran with full five-piece band. “This man can surely sing, and he has a great band behind him. He says some things that need to be said” Christy Moore.
Book Tickets
£ 11.00

Sun 19th September
THE WATER RATS
Acclaimed Nashville songwriter with “Beautiful and heartbreaking songs - one of the best on the Americana and folk scene” (Slaid Cleaves), “Mesmerizing” (Rolling Stone), "Major, major talent" (Music Row Magazine)
Book Tickets
£ 14.00

Tue 21st September
GREEN NOTE
This ‘rising singer-songwriter had the crowd eating out of her hands’ (The Independent) and is simply ‘not to be missed’ (Time Out). The ‘powerful’ (Evening Standard) songstress defies easy classification, with a sound blending folk, soul, blues and country.
Book Tickets
£ 15.00

Wed 22nd September
GREEN NOTE
“Sophisticated mix of folk, jazz, pop and rustica.” Independent
Book Tickets
£ 10.00

Thu 23rd September
THE BASEMENT BAR
"Bedford is a boon of a storyteller, a true heir to the classic US folk singers" (AmericanaUK), "...something truly special.." 5 stars out of 5 (Rock ‘n Reel)
Book Tickets
£ 12.50

Thu 23rd September
GREEN NOTE
An Americana outfit steeped in decades of musical influences from the USA and Ireland.
Book Tickets
£ 10.00

Fri 24th September
GREEN NOTE
An innovative interpretation of American Old-Time tradition, blending roots material with fresh arrangements and original compositions.
Book Tickets
£ 10.00

Sun 26th September
GREEN NOTE
Acclaimed US singer-songwriter plays her London debut
Book Tickets
£ 12.00

Wed 29th September
GREEN NOTE
HEARD Collective play their first gig since lockdown, featuring the accomplished and talented Sherika Sherard and co-founding folk artists Daisy Chute and Cerian
Book Tickets
£ 12.50

Thu 30th September
GREEN NOTE
Rare intimate solo blues show from renowned guitarist from James and The Oyster Band, sharing a bill with US Folk singer-songwriter Kelley Swindall.
Book Tickets
£ 12.00

Fri 1st October
GREEN NOTE
...sorrowful harmonies, driving rhythms and break-neck fiddle to keep you dancing and sobbing into the night in equal measure.
Book Tickets
£ 11.00

Sat 2nd October
GREEN NOTE
An international stringband playing a mix of bluegrass, old-time and gospel originals and treasures.
Book Tickets
£ 12.00

Thu 7th October
THE BASEMENT BAR
“Gritty and authentic” – A Best of The Year selection - The Telegraph, “Really, really special” BBC Radio Scotland, “A stand-out album – poetry is coursing through his veins” ***** Maverick magazine
Book Tickets
£ 12.00

Fri 8th October
GREEN NOTE
"Rooted in Bluegrass and UK Folk Music, they're a wonderful bridge across the Atlantic. ” Whispering Bob Harris, OBE BBC 2 Country
Book Tickets
£ 10.00

Sun 10th October
GREEN NOTE
Celebrating a decade of musical partnership with the release of a very special 10 year anniversary 'greatest hits'.
Book Tickets
£ 10.00

Mon 11th October
GREEN NOTE
Americana singer-songwriter's emotional and seductive vocals take you into a world of private beauty, reflection and feelings; the music is always intimate and evocative – you listen and want to be there.
Book Tickets
£ 12.00

Tue 12th October
GREEN NOTE
One of the brightest rising stars on the UK roots music scene!
Book Tickets
£ 14.00

Wed 13th October
THE LEXINGTON
Declared by music critics as a cross between Janis Joplin, Florence Welch and Courtney Barnett, Lauren Ruth Ward is a force of nature!
Book Tickets
£ 14.50

Thu 14th October
THE BASEMENT BAR
Green Note debut from acclaimed Belfast-based songwriter... 'Like James Taylor meets John Prine... in a second hand bookshop'
Book Tickets
£ 12.00

Fri 15th October
GREEN NOTE
...an irresistibly upbeat combination of R&B, Blues and Country!
Book Tickets
£ 12.00

Tue 19th October
GREEN NOTE
Summoning the same heart-stopping purity as Sandy Denny, by way of Emmylou Harris and Kate Bush!
Book Tickets
£ 12.00

Wed 20th October
GREEN NOTE
New Roots presents a superb double bill with two of the UK's finest contemporary singer-songwriters. ★★★★ Uncut / ★★★★★ Independent on Sunday / ★★★★ The Telegraph
Book Tickets
£ 11.00

Thu 21st October
THE BASEMENT BAR
Up-and-coming London-based singer-songwriter performing meaningfully written songs with a powerful and soulful voice
Book Tickets
£ 10.00

Sat 23rd October
GREEN NOTE
Album launch from this five-piece Brighton based band. Playing Texas Boogie, real Country and dance-floor Western Swing!
Book Tickets
£ 12.00

Thu 28th October
THE BASEMENT BAR
Inspired to produce music in spite of the pandemic lockdown, American singer-songwriter shares his latest album
Book Tickets
£ 10.00

Fri 29th October
GREEN NOTE
One of Sweden's hottest acts!
Book Tickets
£ 14.00

Wed 3rd November
GREEN NOTE
Double-bill featuring Findlay Napier & Megan Henwood- two of Britain's finest songwriter... Join them on an informative performance journey through time and space, blending music, laughter, lasers and maybe one or two vaguely interesting facts.
Book Tickets
£ 12.00

Thu 4th November
THE BASEMENT BAR
Rhythmic folk musings and delicately woven harmonies
Book Tickets
£ 10.00

Sun 7th November
GREEN NOTE
"Smoky soul, folk-pop and heart-wrenching alt-country, all in a rich voice” (Q Magazine)
Book Tickets
£ 12.00

Sat 13th November
THE BASEMENT BAR
Rootsy and rhythmic original songs, Blues and Americana
Book Tickets
£ 10.00

Sat 13th November
GREEN NOTE
“...a gritty, rootsy mélange full of sweeping licks, pumping bass lines and tasty harmonies, successfully blending a modern country twang with rollicking bluegrass.” – Steve Harvey, editor, Acoustic Magazine
Book Tickets
£ 12.50

Tue 16th November
THE WATER RATS
“Gibbs’ songwriting is deeply personal and profound. It’s plain to see Otis Gibbs is a man you should give a damn about. ” – Rolling Stone
Book Tickets
£ 16.00

Mon 22nd November
GREEEN NOTE
Singer-songwriter's hauntingly beautiful voice creates vividly intelligent emotional landscapes in her confessional song-writing.
Book Tickets
£ 12.00

Wed 1st December
THE WATER RATS
Like Simon and Garfunkel lost at sea, salt in their beards, wind at their backs, and whiskey in their bottles...
Book Tickets
£ 14.00

Wed 15th December
GREEN NOTE
Striking six-part harmonies, energetic rhythms, catchy songs and a fiercely formidable live act for TALENTBANQ's special Christmas celebration!
Book Tickets
£ 20.00

Wed 26th January
GREEN NOTE
Winner of the Indie Acoustic Award’s Americana Album of the Year award
Book Tickets
£ 12.00

Wed 9th February
GREEN NOTE
Songwriting which fuses conversational narratives with modern-folk textures in the vein of Gregory Alan Isakov, The Tallest Man On Earth, and Noah Gundersen - rich in emotional detail
Book Tickets
£ 12.00

Sat 26th March
GREEN NOTE
Sun-shiny songs thriving on dark themes behind irresistible rhythms.
Book Tickets
£ 14.00

Thu 14th April
GREEN NOTE
Drawing comparisons with Lucinda Williams and Gillian Welch, Canadian artist Lynn Hansen is know for her hard-living style of music, mixing gritty ballads with driving roots-tinged guitar.
Book Tickets
£ 12.00

Thu 5th May
GREEN NOTE
"Jerry Leger has that spark in him that all the great songwriters have. He's the real deal." - Ron Sexsmith
Book Tickets
£ 10.00

Thu 12th May
GREEN NOTE
“Rebecca Loebe is a woman at the height of her powers.” NPR’s Mountain Stage.... “Mixing resilience, empowerment and just a bit of pissed-off punch…” Rolling Stone
Book Tickets
£ 12.00