“Sweet, lyrical passages blend with impossible prog-like time signatures to create a fresh, modern sound with its own distinctive character” LondonJazzNews

Having established himself as one of the capital’s most in demand guitarists, Alex formed Flying Machines in 2014 with long time collaborators Matt Robinson (piano), Conor Chaplin (bass) and Dave Hamblett (drums). Centered around Alex’s unique compositional approach, Flying Machines have established a sound that is entirely their own, fusing emotive melodies with visceral, rock-out guitar improv and luscious soundscapes. The band are set to release their debut album in 2016.

Three of London’s most in-demand jazz musicians play their debut gig as a trio, playing original music and reinterpretations of some of the classic Coltrane and Ornette Coleman repertoire.

James Allsopp – tenor
Conor Chaplin – bass
Dave Storey – drums