After completing a UK tour in February 2016, the Tom Syson Sextet recorded their debut album ‘Green’ at Peter Gabriel’s Real World Studios in August. The album was produced by Percy Pursglove and featured the JazzFm Vocalist of the Year 2016 Lauren Kinsella on a track. It is entirely made up from original material written by Tom, and creates a variety of exciting textures to keep audiences on their toes, with a focus on rich melodies. The band will be performing at Green Note as part of their 10-date UK tour which includes the Glasgow and Manchester Jazz Festivals.
Tom Syson – Trumpet
Vittorio Mura – Tenor Saxophone
Ben Lee – Guitar
David Ferris – Piano
Pete Hutchison – Double Bass
Jonathan Silk – Drums
Percy Pursglove – “Tom Syson is one of the most interesting voices in the emerging generation of improvisers. His broad sphere of musical influence and exceptional intsrumental facility means that he is without doubt one to watch”
Jacqui Dankworth – “He is a very good musician and someone who really cares about the music.”
Steve Fishwick – “One of the most promising trumpeters of his generation”
Valia Calda is a London-based quintet performing music which draws influences from Jazz and Greek folk and tangles between electronic music and free improvisation. A diverse rhythmic language and a variety of sonic possibilities are brought into compositions, merged with each member’s unique approach and creativity, exploring collectively the group’s musical boundaries.
In spring of 2013 the band released independently their debut EP which received several reviews and radio plays in the U.K, America and Greece. Previous performances include London Jazz Festival, BBC Late Proms, Vortex Jazz Club, Cambridge Jazz Festival as well as concerts in the Netherlands and Greece.
Part of the UK tour, Valia Calda will be presenting their upcoming album entitled “Methexis” with F-IRE Label in April 2017.
Sam Warner – trumpet & flugelhorn
James Allsopp – bass clarinet & tenor sax
Nikos Ziarkas – guitar/electronics
Gaspar Sena – drums
Thodoris Ziarkas – double bass